Flower Model

Many educators benefit from the chance to be strategic and reflective in developing curriculum that supports digital literacy education. We’re exploring the use of this Digital Literacy Curriculum (DLC) Framework (which we sometimes call the “Flower Model.”) It’s a systematic approach to curriculum development that includes these elements:

Flower Model1. CONTEXT: Start by reflecting deeply on the needs of the learner, considering the context, community and your own values and priorities as an educator. Teaching and learning are social practices that are situational and contextual.

2. PURPOSE: Identify the learning outcomes, standards or goals of your curriculum.

3. CONTENT: What resources will you use? How will you use print, visual, sound or digital media texts and tools?

4. PEDAGOGY: What instructional practices will shape what happens during the learning process?

5. ASSESSMENT: What work products will students create? What criteria will be used to assess student learning?

6. TASK or ACTIVITY: What compelling question or scenario will you use to connect your learning tasks to the real world? This component emerges as a creative idea but gets refined and developed by considering the other five elements of the model.

See the Flower Model in Action

Flower Model Template


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s